A Boxford couple was traveling through England this past May when they stumbled upon the room.
The American Museum, located in a Georgian mansion in the English countryside surrounding Bath, is all about America and, as it turns out, a little bit of Boxford. The museum showcases pre-1880 American items including rooms that bring America’s colonial beginnings to life. One of the rooms, The Perley Parlor, uses the original pine paneling from a home in Boxford that was built in 1763 by Captain William Perley (1735-1812).
The house, which was originally located at 52 Bare Hill Rd, is no longer standing. Captain Perley commanded the Boxford company in the battle of Bunker Hill on June 17, 1775. Of the 52 Minute Men under his command, eight gave their lives that day.